2 channel mixer or 3 channel

simonross46

I'm in the process of finalising the package deal I want to buy but the dilemma I face is whether to invest more in the actual CDJ's or the mixer.

I am looking at getting Citronic CDJ's, and there are two options regarding these (one set of CDJ's being a cheaper option, the other being the updated product with more effects etc). This means if I go for the cheaper CDJ package I have more money to spend on the mixer, which leads me on to the topic ...

What is the advantage of using a 3 channel mixer compared with a 2 channel mixer? Will I really benefit from 3 channels?

Also, can anyone enlighten me with some knowledge and advice on what is the best thing for me to do in general. Do I invest more in my CDJ's or my mixer? I've given myself a strict budget of £300 - £600 as I am still running my car, and theres the fact I am now a student.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Here are some links of what I'm looking at ...

Cheap CDJ option with cheap mixer option: http://www.decks.co.uk/package/Citronic_MPCDS3_Gemini_PS424x_43438

Cheap CDJ option with more expensive mixer option: http://www.decks.co.uk/package/Citronic_MPCDS3_Gemini_PS626x_43441

More expensive CDJ option with cheap mixer option: http://www.decks.co.uk/package/Citronic_MPCDS6_Gemini_PS424x_42621

More expensive CDJ option with more expensive mixer option: http://www.decks.co.uk/package/Citronic_MPCDS6_Gemini_PS626x_42624

basically most mixers have a crossfader, which is assignable 2 to channels to swap between channels, a 3 channel mixer has that too if your familier with mixers.

to use it in a 3 channel setup turn the crossfader off and use the up and down faders and up the faders as many as needed