Living abroad

Briggsy

Has anyone here any experience of living abroad? I know Tim has, but he's rarely on these days so probably won't see this thread for a while :(

Its something i've wanted to do for a while, and now the time is right because i'm really unhappy here at the moment, and its time to move on.

I'm looking at Spain ideally - not mainland - probably one of the islands.

Does anyone have any ideas of property rental costs? The kind of salaries people earn, etc?

I'm a qualified IT technician now, and its an internationally recognised qualification, so that's the route i'm hoping to go down, and if needs be, i'm prepared to do some additional bar work or similar to get some extra earnings. I don't mind grafting if its worthwhile :D

Any help would be much appreciated - preferably ASAP because I want to get something sorted pretty quickly.

I looked into it, and I learned to speak Spanish, I also learned some of the laws regarding property and some of the wages I could expect to earn if I went there, I would have been just as I am now basically but in Sunshine and with the possibility of my children having a better life, except their summer holidays are much much longer and that would have been the time that I would need to spend working the most. Anyway that all fell through due to the company I was working for ( and a couple of other unexpected hitches). Also shortly after I looked into it, the property prices over there soared as millions of people started watching 'place in the sun' etc etc and doing the same, but without even learning about the culture they would be moving to. I love it.